Rules Q&A

This is the site for official rules questions and clarifications for GMT’s game, For the People.

Q: What is the latest version of the rules? (8/2008)

A: The current (and final) version of the rules is the 2006 Deluxe Map Reprint Rules. The front cover of these rules has four portraits (Grant, Lee, Union Soldier, Confederate Soldier). Earlier versions of the rules only had two portraits (Grant and Lee).

Q: “If the Union wins a medium or large battle on the last impulse of a turn, and then draws Emancipation Proclamation (EP) and goes first, are its requirements fulfilled by the battle in the previous turn, or not?”  (8/2008)

A: “No, the Emancipation Proclamation (EP) medium or large battle victory must occur while the EP is in someone’s hand, not from an earlier turn”

Q: Please explain the status of Philadelphia and Harrisburg as capital(s) of Pennsylvania? (8/2008)

A: Pennsylvania effectively has two capitals, the loss of either reduces the Union reinforcements by 1 SP and the loss of both reduces the Union reinforcement SPs by two. Both are also considered capitals for all combat purposes.

Q: If the Union is denied naval control from Columbus KY to New Orleans and has SPs and a PC marker in New Madrid, which is in supply overland, can the Union place a PC marker in Memphis (CSA control with Union SP on it) (8/2008, amended 8/2012)

A: Yes, if the Union an trace a LOC to New Madrid, even under denied Union Naval Control (DUNC) conditions. In this example New Madrid has a LOC, so the Union can trace a LOC from Memphis to New Madrid and therefore can place a Union PC marker in Memphis destroying the resource center.

River connections can be used to trace supply (in this example New Madrid-Memphis) just like rail or road connections, except the CSA cannot use them when the USA has naval control. Denying the Union naval control does not deny the Union the use of rivers, but enables the Confederate use of rivers, thus the Union can trace LOCs along navigable rivers irrespective of Union naval control.

Note that the presence of CSA SPs in a space or a CSA PC will deny Union ability to trace across a river connection in the absence of Union Naval control.

Q: Is the Ops queue lost when a general attempts a discretionary retreat? (10/2008)

A: No. The Ops queue is only lost if the general participates in a battle, whether his modifier is used or not. If the general is involved in a battle after a discretionary retreat, then the Ops queue would be lost.

Q: Is the Op queue lost when a general fails an intercept attempt (10/2008)

A: No. The Ops queue is only lost if a general is involved in a battle, whether his modifier is used or not.

Q: Can the event Draft Riots in New York remove the last infantry SP in an army? (2/2012)

A: Yes, the conditions listed on the card requiring removal of Union SPs located first in PA, NJ, DE, and DC takes precedence  permits removing the last SP in an Army if no other SPs are in the listed geograpahies. It also would allow removing SPs that would result in displacing a general to the turn track.

Q: Can Grierson’s Raid or Wilson’s Raid or Detached Cavalry trace the 4 space path along river connections? (2/2004)

A: Yes. The card states within 4 spaces, so you can use River connections. The cavalry isn’t moving by boat necessarily, but riding along the river.

Q: Can the CSA or Union place fewer forts than the maximum listed on cards such as Washington Defenses, Fortified Lines, or Pre-War Treachery? (8/2004)

A: Yes, the number of forts to be placed is a maximum number not a minimum number, and especially in the case where the maximum number of forts would be exceeded, only enough forts can be placed to not exceed the limits for each side (e.g. 6 for the CSA).

Q:  Consider the situation where a CSA army with 5 SPs is attacked by an Union army with 15 SPs in a large battle and wins the battle and is destroyed. Which comes first, the SW loss for the army of the SW gain for winning the battle. (9/2012)

A:  This is a timing question and you have to follow the battle sequence explicitly or you get the wrong answer.

Rule 7.3 C… once the dice are rolled casualties are taken, this comes before post battle resolution where who won and who lost is factored in to the situation. So, in this example the 5 step loss to the CSA is assessed and the army is eliminated, causing the immediate -5SW. Now that casualties have been taken you calculate who won or who lost per 7.32. At this time the CSA ‘victory’ gains +3 and the USA takes a -5 SW. Since this is a negative to positive FOW for the CSA they gain an additional 2 SW; so the calculation is 100- (-5 army destruction) = 95-; CSA wins battle; +3; rule 12.3, (not sure where the +5 comes from) +2 for FOW; rule 12.4, so the CSA is now 100+.

Q: Does the a CSA fort or ironclad in Aquia Creek permit allow the CSA to cross from Manassas to DC? (10/2012)

A: Yes, a CSA fort or ironclad denies Union naval control along the Potomac river. The CSA can cross from Manassas to DC and if there is no US fort present and if there is an ironclad or fort  in Aquia Creek.  See rule 6.63 Potomac River for additional information. Note that an ironclad also prevents amphibious movement out of and into DC and would also deny DC as an ultimate supply source if DC does not have a LOC to another open port or rail or road link off the Northern map edge.

Q: Can an army composed solely of cavalry brigades place political control markers? (1/2013)

A: No, armies containing no infantry SPs cannot place PCs. They can still remove PCs from neutral or enemy controlled friendly state spaces as a cavalry brigade could. See 5.26 Movement and Political Control.

Q: Can Union PCs placed by Crittenden Compromise be placed in a space solely occupied by a CSA ironclad? (2/2013)

A: Yes. The CSA ironclad is also removed after placement of the Union PC. See 6.7.

Q: If a 10 or more SP army attacks a fort occupied by 1 SP and plays the card Union Siege Guns, is this treated as an overrun? (3/2013)

A: No. This is treated as a normal battle but the fort modifier is not used by the defender.

Q: Can a LOC be traced from a friendly controlled Ft. Monroe to a friendly controlled Norfolk? (5/2013)

A: Yes. If Ft. Monroe is friendly controlled, a line of communications (LOC)  exists along the implict river path between Ft. Monroe and its associated blockade runner port,  Norfolk. If Ft. Monroe is CSA controlled then Union naval control is denied between Ft. Monroe and Norfolk allowing the CSA to trace a LOC between Ft. Monroe and its associated blockade runner port, Norfolk. For the case where the Union controls Ft. Monroe,  a Union LOC can be traced between Norfolk and Ft. Monroe.

Q: If Union naval control extends along the entire Mississippi river except for a CSA controlled Ft. St. Philip-Jackson, can New Orleans receive a blockade runner reinforcement if New Orleans can trace a LOC to an undestroyed CSA controlled resource space or another open blockade runner port? (5/2013)

A: Yes, a CSA blockade runner port is open if its associated coastal fort is CSA controlled and if the port can trace a LOC to an undestroyed resource space or another open blockade runner port.

Q. Are cavalry and regular leaders mixed together to be randomly placed when they arrive into the game? (6/2013)

A: No, generals are sorted by type for placement. If you refer to the physical pieces, you can see that cavalry generals have a distinctly different reverse side of the counter then regular generals. For example if you have 1 regular general arriving and three cavalry generals arriving. The regular general can be placed without needing to go through random determination, but the  three cavalry generals need to be randomly placed.

Q. What happens to an elite unit in the army removed when 2 armies end their move in the same space? (7/2013)

A: The elite unit is removed along with the generals in the removed army. Only the SPs are merged.

Q. Can a general moving alone be intercepted? (9/2013)

A: No a general moving alone is not considered a force and cannot be intercepted.

Q. When is the victory condition of Confederate Strategic Will reaching zero or less chccked? (5/2014)

A: If Confederate Strategic Will reaches 0 or less at the end of any of the three steps in the Political Control Determination Segment (3.42), the game is over and subsequent steps are ignored.

Q. When is a fort destroyed? Can a CSA force occupying a fort use it to retreat across a river after losing a battle? (5/2011)

A: A fort is destroyed after retreats are completed, so a CSA force can use a fort to cross a river after losing a battle while occupying the fort.

Q. Are Non-navigable rivers continuation of rivers that are navigable for purposes of blocking Union naval control?  (3/2017)

A: Yes, non-navigable rivers are continuations of navigable rivers for purposes of projecting Union naval control. Consequently, a Confederate fort in a space like Pittsburg, PA would block Union naval control from being projected from the North board edge along the Ohio River.

 

Q. During the strategic movement phase, can CSA SPs in Coastal fort spaces move to the associated blockade runner port?  (3/2002)

A: No, strategic naval movement is not allowed for the CSA player. However, a SP in a Coastal fort could strategically move to a CSA army with a valid LOC to the coastal fort.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: